Unlocking Hop and Fruit Flavors from Glycosides

Instead of the standard blog post today, I bring you my article published on HomeBrewTalk.com: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/unlocking-hop-and-fruit-flavors-from-glycosides.html.

Visit to find out how to get more flavor out of your hops and fruits using Brettanomyces or enzymes!

Get more flavor!– Dennis,
Life Fermented

About Dennis
Home brewer, home chef, garage tinkerer. Author of Life Fermented blog.

8 Responses to Unlocking Hop and Fruit Flavors from Glycosides

  1. dan says:

    Hi!
    We had a discussion under your article at homebrewtalk about this topic. I just closed the fermenter on a beer i dosed with 3g/10l Optimum White. (i added it with the yeast)
    I am thinking about splitting the batch at bottling time and adding Lallzyme Beta to one half. After that i wont be able to filter or clear the beer, i hope it is not necessary.
    I also bottle carb go about 2 vol, i Wonder of that sugar will inhibit the enzyme.

    • Dennis says:

      Hi Dan,
      I can’t wait to hear how this turns out! I have never seen CO2 pressure listed as something which will inhibit the enzyme activity. But, the alcohol in the beer might. I’m guessing it won’t be as high as wine levels, so hopefully it will only slow it down. Just out of curiosity, where did you buy your enzymes? Someone on the homebrewtalk page had a question about that and I haven’t had the time to look into it.
      -Dennis

      • dan says:

        I have concerns about the sugar added at bottling, i have not seen anything about CO2 being harmful either.

        I bough them in the wine section of a farm supplies/agricultural shop but i live in hungary so my info is not really helpful i guess.

        Btw if i will detect any impact on the aroma or flavor i will brew and split a 3 gal batch to 1 gallon batches, one standard, one with Optimum White and one with Optimum White and Lz Beta.

  2. dan says:

    Bottled a batch with Optimum White added at fermentation and Beta added when the bottling bucket was at half.
    Also it is quite possible I screwed up the batch by using used dryhops of a previous batch as bittering hops in this batch because I have tasted some cardboardish stuff during bottling which I have never tasted before at bottling time.
    Let’s see what happens 4 weeks later, the aroma is untouched by this mistake I guess so I still will be able to compare Beta vs. no-Beta aromas.

  3. dan says:

    4 people (me, a guy who is not really concerned with taste and two wine drinkers who attend wine tastings all the time) compared the “bottled with beta” and “bottled without beta” beer after 4 weeks of carbonation in the bottle.
    All of us identified the beta treated beer as having stronger and better smell.
    Will compare some more later.

    • Dennis says:

      Awesome! Gotta admit, I was worried after all that the difference wouldn’t be noticeable. Would you mind doing a quick write-up of your recipe/process with tasting notes when you get a chance? I think it would be very valuable to other readers to see the practical side beyond the theory I presented.
      Thanks!
      – Dennis

  4. dan says:

    The recipe was my first take on an IRA.
    About 3 gal into the fermenter.
    OG: 1.075 (i shooted for 1.070 but i should have go even lower next time i think)
    IBU: ? depends on that quality of that frozen hop gunk but it got quite bitter at the end

    86% Pilsner malt (3kg)
    10% C60 (0.3kg)
    4% Carapils (0.15kg)
    1% Roasted Barley (30g)

    30g of that frozen dryhop thing @ 60
    50g simcoe @ 0 or more like whirlpool
    50g el dorado as dryhop for 6 days

    My water is really alkaline and hard (CaCO3 alkalinity @ 380) so i have to dump 4-5ml of phosporic acid into 10L of mash water to get the ph around 5.4-5.5.

    I put in some sulfate into my water so my finishing water profile is pretty mineral like 100ppm Ca, 300ppm So4, 80ppm Cl etc.

    I fermented it with a rehydrated packet of US05 for two weeks at 68F. I added 3g of rehydrated optimum white with the yeast at pitching time.

    After fermentation i syphoned the wort to a bottling bucket, added priming sugar and bottled the first half of the batch. Then i added 0.4g beta enzyme (mixed with water) to the remaining half of beer (5-6L) and bottled that, then marked the two halves differently on the caps to know which one is which.

  5. dan says:

    I forgot the most important thing:
    beta vs. no-beta
    Taste: i think they were the same but some of us preferref the taste of the beta
    Smell: I am not really good at descriptions, the beta one was just more of the same thing, like i used more of the same dryhops on that batch.

Leave a Reply

